Sherlock Holmes Collar

I’d just finished a long knitting project and was still itching for something to do when I thought of this collar/necklace. I’ve been reading through the Sherlock Holmes books and my wife was kind enough to buy the Mark Gatiss and Stephen Moffat BBC series for me for Yule. This is a relatively simple project for beginners and a nice conversation piece for any Holmes fan.

Lost and Found faux brown leather cord
Bella Boho brass chain
Industrial Chic nameplate pendant
jewelry pliers
stationary/printer paper

All of the jewelry findings came from Michaels. The nameplate pendant was one of a set of three and came with it’s own insert (which read “No. 4982”). I printed the “No. 221B” insert in purple ink on Century typeface on a piece of brown forty-something year old stationary using a laser printer.

The cord came with a silver adjustable chain which I removed with a pair of pliers and added the copper chain. I liked the look and texture of the chain and I felt it both complimented the brown leather and contrasted well with the metal of the nameplate and the remaining silver findings.

The term “collar” here is more for fun than practical function (I wouldn’t hook a leash to it). Still, Sherlock wouldn’t want John to get lost (or vice versa).

~ by blackmoodcraft on February 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “Sherlock Holmes Collar”

  1. ¡Muy buen trabajo!
    ¿Cuanto pides por él?

    • Thank you very much! (I apologize for the English reply but my Spanish is terrible).

      If you wanted a collar like this one or similar, I’ll be posting a commissions page soon.

Leave a Reply

 
