Dollmania Part 3: Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy Dolls (Zombie Hunting Style)

Well, it was a close one. But when all the votes from my blogs and e-mails tallied, the winning choice for my next pair of dolls were Lizzie and Mr. Darcy from Pride & Prejudice & Zombies. Many thanks to everyone that voted! These two ended up being one of the most detailed sewing projects I’ve worked on yet.

Mimi Kirchner’s doll template (Printed on “Booklet Setting”)
Embroidery floss
White felt squares
Antique white felt squares
Brown felt squares
Black felt squares
Silver grey felt squares
Cotton swabs
Scissors
Embroidery needle

Taking some inspiration from the BBC-produced 1995 adaptation, I designed both Lizzy and Darcy’s clothes from scratch. Jennifer Ehle’s dresses all seemed to be a white or cream color, so I went with white felt for the dress and embroidered a pink three-petaled flower pattern in a diagonal repetition on both sides. I also cut out white panels for the front and back of the skirt, so the loose ends of embroidery floss wouldn’t be visible.

For her hair, I used the template from Wig 2 and added a small figure-of-8 for the back, so it would resemble the loose bun/ponytail in both the 1995 and 2005 adaptations.

For Mr. Darcy, I designed a long frock coat and waist coat from the basic body template. Apart from his riding clothes, Colin Firth’s coats were either black or grey, but I wanted his doll to have a little color and be a good match for the Lizzie doll, so I used brown felt to match her hair and eyes. I embroidered little black buttons on the right side of the waist coat and a small bit of stitching at the apex of his coattails. I also cut out a small strip of white felt to make a high collar for his shirt.

It was easy to draw the art design from the film adaptations, but since there’s not much visual to rely on for the Quirk Books zombie adaptation (yet), I had to kind of play it by ear. I drew original templates of both Lizzy’s boot knife and Darcy’s katana, cutting out silver grey felt for the blades and brown and black felt for the handles, stitching both shapes together. For the katana’s handle, I used mustard yellow embroidery thread to approximate the gold fletching common to these priceless swords. To make them stable and solid, I wrapped the felt around cotton swaps cut to fit their size.

Rather than make little holsters for both of their weapons, I took some inspiration from the last Snape doll I made (whose owner has since given him his own Twitter feed and Facebook page) and made a loose, looped stitch in each of their right hands so they could always be ready with their weapons in hand in case some “unmentionables” happen by…

After I finished these dolls, I showed them to some of the students and instructors at the art school where I work. They each had their own unique reactions to being photographed with them:

~ by blackmoodcraft on October 18, 2011.

2 Responses to “Dollmania Part 3: Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy Dolls (Zombie Hunting Style)”

  1. Those are so fucking cute, and I don’t even like Pride and Prejudice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

