Tyr (the Amputee)’s Pocket Watch

Maybe it was me missing my dog or too many repeat viewings of The Hounds of Baskerville. In any event, my second pocket watch ended up being an homage to the Norse god, Tyr, the warrior who lost his hand to the wolf, Fenrir (hence the bloody paw print).

Tim Holtz pocket watch frame
Tim Holtz large swivel clasp
Cosette collection black and white damask scrapbook paper
One smoky felt square
Recollections canine paw print stamp
Royal Court decoupage sealer/adhesive
3/4″ craft brush
Folk Art red acrylic paint
Americana Gloss Enamels black paint
Jewelry pliers
Stylus
Scissors

First thing’s first, I used the jewelry pliers to attach the swivel clasp to the pocket watch before moving into the other materials.

I loved the Cosette Collection scrapbook paper I used to make my Sherlock wallpaper and was pleased by the inclusion of the fleur de lis in the design, so I decided to use it in this project (at first thinking I was going to be designing an homage to Reynard the Fox). I cut out two 2″ x 2″ squares — one of the scrapbook paper, one of the smoky felt. Then, using the stencil I had previously used to cut out the last fob watch design, I trimmed the scrapbook paper to a 1.5″ circle and the felt to a slightly larger circle.

Using the craft brush, I painted the surface of the watch back with Royal Court sealer/adhesive and used it to secure the felt to the watch back.

After washing and drying the brush, I used it to paint a small amount of red paint onto the paw print stamp and tested the impressions on a piece of scrap poster board several times before finally finding the critical amount and making an impression on the paper.

Once the impression was dry, I painted a small amount of Royal Court on the back of the paper and secured it to the felt inside the watch back, making sure there was an even amount of felt from each side.

I used the stylus and black enamel paint to paint a single bind rune at the botton of the glass.

The bind rune is a combination of Teiwaz and Thor’s cross. Teiwaz is Tyr’s rune, the rune of discipline, duty, self-sacrifice and the warrior’s path. In magic, it is often used in spells of protection or for strengthening one’s will. The presence of Thor’s cross eliminates the negative aspects (danger through ill-timed or hasty action).

And there we have it, all finished and ready to wear. What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on January 22, 2012.

5 Responses to “Tyr (the Amputee)’s Pocket Watch”

  1. Very awesome! I like it!

  2. I like it!

  3. […] are as follows: Wood and Leather Coffin Locket Severus Snape doll Evil Eye and Harlequin bracelet Tyr the Amputee’s Pocket Watch Share this:FacebookTwitterDiggPrintEmailStumbleUponRedditLinkedInPinterestTumblrLike this:LikeBe […]

Leave a Reply

 
