Scissors and Secret Compartment Necklace

When I couldn’t find my stork sewing scissors the other day, a friend of mine suggested I get “one of those necklaces with the scissors you can wear around your neck.” I couldn’t find one of those on any of the sites I checked, so I decided to make one myself.

Stainless steel sewing scissors
Industrial Chic antique brass and fiber optic locket
Jewelry pliers
20″ copper chain

I’m fortunate enough to live just half a mile away from a Michael’s crafts outlet, so I was able to make a small side trip before I went to work the other day. The scissors I ended up getting are one of a set of three stainless steel crafting scissors — these are for fine detail work while the other two are for larger crafts.

The locket was something I had as part of a set of three Industrial Chic pendants I purchased last year. It’s base metal with an antique brass finish. The gem at the center of the lid is fiber optic, cool with a texture that approximates gemstones but is synthetic. I figured out that the locket can hold up to 36 inches of cotton or polyester sewing thread, coiled up and secreted inside it. Not much for working on long projects but very handy if someone needs a tear stitched up quickly!

Finally, the copper chain was another piece I had waiting in my findings containers for more than a year. It was in a box of broken jewelry I found at a thrift store. Easy enough to repair and set aside for the next project.

The necklace sits about 18″ below my neck, away from any skin. Probably not acceptable to wear at the airport, but everywhere else should be fair game.

What do you think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on February 10, 2012.

2 Responses to “Scissors and Secret Compartment Necklace”

  1. Love the idea–particularly as I have an unusual tendency to buy clothing with badly sewn-on buttons (for whatever reason–perpetual bad luck, I guess) and could use a right-there way to fix them back on! I’d still be afraid of unintentional bodily harm, though, even with the extra-long chain. Either that or the incessant clacking against my desk at work as I hunch over my computer would drive me nuts. It’s certainly a unique piece, though. 🙂

    • Yeah, I’ve been careful with it so far — because that point is sharp. I’ll probably tape them off just in case. Or make a small slip case for the blades.

      Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
