“Keep Calm and Drink Up:” BBC Sherlock Found Art Coffee Cup

Because I needed a new cup and was still feeling a bit weepy two months after The Reichenbach Fall.

This black and white damask cup was still another fun Michael’s find — the damask design was already there when I bought it and was pretty much the sole reason I bought it (hence the “found art” bit in the title).

Like my eco-friendly Norse buddy, it’s double-walled ceramic, dishwasher and microwave safe with a silicon lid and sleeve designed to resemble the disposable paper cups sold at coffee shops. It holds approx. 8 ounces of coffee or tea.”

For painting on silicone rubber, most articles recommended cleaning the surface and using an oil or latex based paint. I decided to go ahead and try out my acrylic craft paint with a small topcoat of decoupage finish. If nothing else, the design is simple enough (a smiley face) that, if it wears away with heat or friction, I can always break out my brushes and do it again!

~ by blackmoodcraft on March 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
