Six Sides to Every Story: Wall of 221b Baker Street

Well it’s been a few months but here’s Side 4 of my reader-polled Nerd Cube paperweight. So far we’ve had a Rubik’s Cube, a Parisian clock face, HAL-9000 and this week, it’s Sherlock’s turn to make an appearance.

Cosette Collection black and white damask paper
Royal Court decoupage sealer/adhesive
Craft Smart yellow acrylic paint
3/4″ craft brush
Pencil
Ruler
Stylus
Scissors

This might have been the cleanest job I’ve had while making this paperweight. It was just a patter of measuring and cutting out the particular section of the paper I wanted for the wall. About the only criteria I had was that there had to be black damask leaves featured in the upper left corner where the smiley face was going to overlap.

I rather than using a fine point brush, I used the larger point of my stylus to approximate the smiley face Benedict Cumberbatch’s Sherlock infamously shot into the wall. And I decided that, for the sake of the paperweight, the wall would have a smooth edge with no bullet holes.

Once the paint was dry, I used the craft brush to apply a layer of decoupage sealer to the back and laid it flat over the side of the craft block. Once that was dry, I used the same brush to apply two layers to the top of the paper.

There we have it! I love how simple and fun this design is and how much it resonates with Sherlockians.. but I do think my next Holmes-inspired craft will borrow another element of the boys from Baker Street.

Glad to see this turned out so well though. What do you think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on June 12, 2012.

One Response to “Six Sides to Every Story: Wall of 221b Baker Street”

  1. […] “The Wall Had It Coming:” 221b Baker Street […]

Leave a comment