Frankenstein-Inspired Ruffle Scarf

image

I got low a few weeks ago and, to lift my spirits, ended up wandering into Michael’s, looking for a new project to occupy my mind.

I ended up finding this great mesh yarn that created ruffles similar to a man’s cravatt when I knitted at the widest point.

One ball Starbella “collegiate” yarn US 11 needles

I cast on five stitches and continued knitting at the widest edge of the yarn. The entire project took two hours.

I’m calling this a Frankenstein-inspired project because I had just seen the play when I made it, the cravatt-style of the ruffled edges and the colors reminded me of the characters (black for Victor, grey for the Creature, white for Elizabeth and red for blood).

I really love how this turned out (and very pleased that a colleague was so impressed, he commissioned a scarf of his own!) What do you think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on July 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
