“Shadow Dancing” Shadow Box

When my cousin Caitlin got married last May, I wanted to make something she and her husband something nice that they would be able to hang on the wall of their new home.

8″ x 10″ pre-cut wood shadow box frame
3/4″ craft brush
Organic wood stain
Royal Court decoupage sealer/adhesive
Aleene’s spray gloss adhesive finish
Ooks sawtooth hangers
Recollections Shamrocks craft paper
Recollections Music Notes craft paper
Recollections Spiderweb craft paper
Recollections Chairs craft paper
Ruler
Pencil
Scissors
Hammer

Caitlin and Matt are both involved in community theater, both involved in musical theater, both Irish, both Tim Burton fans. When I got the idea to make them a shadow box, I dug deep into my collection of craft paper that would mix and match some of these things in an interesting way.

I coated all sides of the frame with my favorite organic wood stain. Once that was dry, I sprayed each side down with spray gloss finish.

After the stain and the finish were dry, I used the ruler, pencil and scissors to measure and cut out the strips of scrap paper to line the inside of the shadow box frame (with the spider web paper on the top and right sides, Victorian chairs print for the bottom and left).

I used the hammer to secure the sawtooth hanger to the back of the shadow box frame. I then used the decoupage adhesive and craft brush to fix the craft paper to the inside of the frame. I chose to create a multilayer effect by only covering half of the inside with the sheet music craft paper and dotting both sides with a trail of the shamrocks arranged from smallest to largest to create an illusion of motion. Once the paper was on, I sprayed the whole thing down with a layer of spray gloss finish.

I really enjoyed making this and I hope the happy couple enjoy it, too. What do you think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on July 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
