Fun with leather

My fingers are sore after two days of making e-reader covers — one with cardboard panels and t-shirt material, one with leather and suede. I’ve learned a few new things:

1) T-shirt material is probably better for dying and painting than working with patchwork material.

2) Sewing with leather needles is nowhere near as satisfying as breaking out the cement compound.

3) SAVE YOUR BUTTONS. Every loose or extra button you have ever had or found anywhere. No commercial craft outlet store will have better buttons. They’re all cheap plastic, cutesy, two-holed, multi-colored monstrosities.

It’s been frustrating and I now have a new list of items I need to get (serrated tracing wheel, sewing awl, scotch guard) but I think I’m going to have to do a bit more leather crafting in the future. I was much happier with my results with them than I was with the t-shirt cotton (but more on that later…).

~ by blackmoodcraft on July 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
