A Thought-Provoking Blog Award

I have been nominated for a Thought Provoking Blog Award, which is amazing and has left me quite flummoxed.

The Rules of this award are:

1. Thank the person who nominated you.
Thank you, Angie. It means a lot. You said this was because I keep trying and, as we both know, some days that’s a lot harder than most people imagine.

2. Post the image on your blog.
Done.

3. Share seven things about yourself.

1. The first Sherlock Holmes story I ever read was “The Hound of the Baskervilles” when I was 9 years old. I hated it. I mean, really hated it. I was so outraged that the killer in question was not, in fact, a large hound with glowing fur or the apparition of a large hound with glowing fur and instead was just another greedy bastard human acting like a greedy bastard human. Now I see it was a symbol of a major turning point in modern literature — from the gothic supernatural evil to the evil within man.

2. I drink coffee black with two sugars; tea with no milk, lemon or sugar. Because that’s how my Aunt Marge used to feed it to me in her kitchen when I was a little girl. (P.S. I’m fairly certain the British Breakfast she used to brew double strong and serve over ice was decaf… but I wouldn’t be surprised if it wasn’t, which makes the “no sugar” thing very funny).

3. I am drawn to (and tend to write) characters who are much more extraverted and tempestuous in how they express their depression than I am. I withdraw and don’t call people for months. Tony Stark drinks, Severus Snape yells at his students, Sherlock Holmes pitches tantrums. Sometimes I imagine sitting in the same room with all three of them, drinking tea while they collectively destroy the house.

4. In spite of having been an enormous Anglophile all my life, there’s not a drop of English blood in me — just every country they ever picked a fight with (Ireland, Scotland, France, Germany, Hungary, the Netherlands…)

5. I had been knitting for a year and making jewelry for at least three before I remembered that both of my grandmothers had each done the same thing (though Grandma Rosemary crocheted over knitting). So this is something that I very likely picked up from them deep in my genetic code, which makes me absurdly happy.

6. I’ve never understood the whole “misery loves company” trope. I worry about how my reactions to my own anxiety and depression affect others who suffer from the same thing — because I’ve spent too many hours conversing with myself because the two people I was with had each triggered some kind of breakdown in the other. On the days when I feel particularly bad, knitting or watching movies is vastly preferable to pulling someone else into a catatonic stupor along with me.

7. Of all of the different supervisors and colleagues and managers that I’ve had, I love my art students best of all.

4. Pass the award to five blogs you enjoy.


http://geekgirlgourmet.wordpress.com

http://rayraysunshine.wordpress.com

http://www.thefilthytruth.com

http://alittlebitginger.tumblr.com

http://finalproblem.tumblr.com

~ by blackmoodcraft on September 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
