Favorite Videos: “That’s It, I Quit, I’m Moving On” by Adele

I’m in the middle of something of an anniversary right now. Those readers who follow me on Tumblr and Facebook probably already know and needn’t read further.

Two years ago, I broke out of a bad marriage. It was a phenomenally hard decision that took several earth-shattering fights, contradictory statements and truly stupendous moments of neglect stacked one on top of the other over a period of many months before I finally made the jump.

There were four weeks between that last bad fight and the move into my own place. I had a lot of help from my family and my friends, and I love every single person that helped me through the transition; who supported me with reaffirming words, money for the first month’s rent, transport for my 28 years worth of possessions, a new home for my dog, and I hope they all know just how covered and solid they made me feel after months of feeling like I was slowly disappearing.

It’s been two years, but I can finally look back on everything I lived through, everything I tried and failed to make work and I no longer feel weak for it. I feel strong for leaving and stronger for the good relationships that endured and thrived in the wake of everything. Thank you so much.

~ by blackmoodcraft on August 30, 2013.

2 Responses to “Favorite Videos: “That’s It, I Quit, I’m Moving On” by Adele”

  1. For what I had to offer you at such a huge distance, you’re welcome, and I’d do it again to get you out of an emotionally and mentally abusive situation. I’m so very proud of you for making a leap after such a short time (realizing much quicker than I did how bad it was). I wish I’d had someone like you around earlier in my marriage to point out to me how bad things were and give me the courage to do what you did. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

 
