Slightly Odd Things in the Lives of Crafters’ Friends and Loved Ones #1: The ‘left behind’ effect

So I found a pattern for a small dog that I’ve been modifying, knitting, pulling apart and re-knitting for the past 30 hours or so. Like you do.

I’d completed all four legs and was busy stitching them together and knitting what will be the left side of a poodle/bichon frise mix. I had four loose ends in my mouth, pulled taut while I attempted to complete a row of purl stitches… and I realized: 90 percent of all my knitting projects are covered in my DNA. Hair, saliva, skin cells… Several of my friends have laughed about finding long strands of red hair wound in the wool of their light-colored scarves and hats. And yet, the situation is far worse than they might have realized.

Hopefully, none of them drops their scarf, hat, pot holder or Wodehouse/Supernatural/DC character doll at a murder scene.

~ by blackmoodcraft on October 13, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
