“Mother of Dragons” Necklace

My cousin’s a fan of Game of Thrones and her favorite character is “mother of dragons” Daenerys Targaryen. With the winter holidays around the corner, I through I might make her something reminiscent of the character and her connection to her.

Bead Landing three 18″ linked chains with clasp
Bead Landing head pins
7mm Grey glass pearl
7mm Cream glass pearl
2mm Amethyst glass bead
2mm flat silver spacer bead
Silver dragon charm with jump ring
Flat end jewelry pliers
Rounded jewelry pliers
Wire cutters

At 18″, the chains I purchased were just a bit short for what I wanted to do (and for my cousins, both considerably taller than me). Using the wire cutters and pliers, I was able to cut one of the chains in half, separate the opposite ends from the clasp, and use the remaining jump rings to connect the loose ends — making two 27″ chains.

–Photo courtesy of Geek Crusade

Once the chain was finished, creating the pearl charm (grey and cream, inspired by Dany’s wardrobe colors) and connecting it to the jump ring that held the dragon charm was easily done. I used the amethyst glass and silver spacer to top off the beads, giving the charm a symmetrical shape and keeping the trimmed and looped headpin wire from scratching the pearl.

All in all, I was quite pleased with how the necklace turned out and my cousin seemed to love it 🙂 What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on December 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
