“Champagne and Blood” Necklace

Crafting was a mixed bag during this year’s winter holidays — between knitting, cross stitch, and jewelry crafting. I made two necklaces this year. I’d gifted my cousin, Cara, pearl post earrings for past yuletides and she’s favored colors in cream and camel in other accessories over the years. When I thought of jewelry for her, this was what my brain came up with.

Bead Landing three 18″ linked chains with clasp
Bead Landing head pins
9mm hematite bead
7mm Coffee glass pearl
7mm Champagne glass pearl
2mm Amethyst glass bead
Three 2mm flat silver spacer beads
Silver wings charm
9mm split ring
Flat end jewelry pliers
Rounded jewelry pliers
Wire cutters

Hematite is known as a blood stone and is often carried as a talisman for intuition. I thought the wings would be an appropriate addition to the charm and both would look good alongside the pearls.

Once each charm was completed, I used the wire cutters to trim the head pin, leaving approximately 7mm of pin at the top. I then used the rounded jewelry pliers to create a closed loop at the top, which I then strung onto the split ring (similar to a jump ring, but with close connected threads like a key ring).

My cousin seemed to like her present 🙂 What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on December 29, 2013.

One Response to ““Champagne and Blood” Necklace”

  1. Ooh! Those colors look really nice together!

Leave a Reply

 
