It’s a New Dawn, It’s a New Day – January’s Plan of Attack

‘Thought I’d try something a little different this year.

I’m very easy-going and prone to improvisation — whether it’s in a classroom, a kitchen, or a professional environment like my office. With my crafts, this means I’m prone to trying several new things at once, some of which take, some of which don’t. Like a lot of crafters, I have amazing, fun projects that I’ve finished with new methods I’ve adopted and kept up and I have unfinished projects gathering dust in drawers and on my crafting table. So, this year, I thought it might be interesting to set up a few goals at the beginning of each month and seeing how the entries that follow progress. I’m limiting the list to a skeletal three or four entries, so I’m not easily overwhelmed and end up dropping everything.

1) Wrap up and mail out jewelry commissions. Apologies for the tardiness, ladies. December was quite hectic.

2) Wrap up unfinished paper and sewing crafts mentioned in previous entries. Some of you may have to hunt to guess which ones I mean — they’ve been on the drawing board that long.

3) Learn to cross stitch more detailed, stylized letters. On pillows and hoop art, specifically. And, possibly, revisit an old knitting pattern and see if it works better on cross stitch.

4) Make lots of cheese. Okay, so this one, on first glance, doesn’t resemble the other things on this list or on this blog. Over the past year or so, cooking had been another means of building my crafting acumen that renews my energy, gives me confidence, and encourages outside communication. It’s also something that’s intimately tied to my physical health and well being as well as mental and, as I learn to make more and more things from whole, unprocessed ingredients, it frees up my pocket book for much needed items like yarn and embroidery floss. One of the things I learned to make most recently was farmer’s cheese and I have several recipes for other types, some of which can be frozen. It seems as good a time as any to stock up. This is nothing I’ll be posting about on the blog (not heavily, at any rate), but sometimes it’s nice to keep a note about something like that in a semi-public space.

~ by blackmoodcraft on January 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
