Sussex Downs (“221bee”) Snow Globe

I don’t know about anyone else, but I can’t name one Sherlockian on this side of the pond that waited for the January 19th premiere date of the BBC series. We’re a slightly impatient lot. The finale, His Last Vow, was heavy on references to Doyle canon, not the least of which was a certain home in a certain area of England, which I decided would be perfect for side 2 of my winter hols snow globe.

Studio Decor Holiday snow globe with photo opening
Recollections “Black and Grey Damask” scrapbook paper
Recollections “Family Tree” scrapbook paper
Recollections Journal Card Pad “Sunny Skies”
Glow-in-the-dark Halloween stickers
Scotch tape
Scissors
X-acto knife

By the time of “His Last Bow,” the final Sherlock Holmes story, the great detective has left London and Baker Street and retired to a small farm cottage in Sussex Downs, where he has swapped chasing down criminals for bee keeping (before being called out of retirement to assist the allies in the war effort).

The black and grey damask is a gorgeous, versatile design and its well-suited to a lot of gothic and Victorian projects. I thought it would make a surreal double for a night sky. The bee was an inspired design choice and I’m seeing them crop up in a lot of Recollections and Mod Podge prints these days.

For the house, the closest design I had that would fit the size of the background was the pastoral watercolor design of what looked like a large estate home on my “Family Tree” scrapbook paper. I elected to include the trees surrounding the house and traced out the detailed outline with an x-acto knife.

Once the cut-outs were completed, I rearranged them the way I wanted them to look, and used Scotch tape to fix them to the damask insert. The final touch was a glow-in-the-dark star sticker from one of my Halloween sticker sheets (because I am a child at heart and the idea of glowing things inside snow globes makes me positively giddy).

For being as simple as it was, this Holmesian craft turned out better than I could have hoped! What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on January 16, 2014.

2 Responses to “Sussex Downs (“221bee”) Snow Globe”

  1. I have a feeling that is not the last snow globe you’ll be designing. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

 
