Tedious Things in the Lives of Crafters #15: Brought too much, Can’t take it with you

This probably falls more under “tedious things in the lives of crafty road-trippers” but I’m sure we’ve all been there, no matter how many trips we make in a year. Not only do we prioritize knitting, cross stitch, and jewelry craft supplies over clothing and toiletries — if we live in large metropolitan areas and rely heavily on public transport to get around, we frequently end up having to leave things behind to prevent our bags from being too heavy (that cordless drill never seems that heavy, until you have to think about lugging it back home on two trains and a bus in five inches of snow)

I just got back from a trip to St. Louis visiting with my family, including my older brother and his fiance. I was in the process of finishing up a commission for him and a few other projects in the mean time and ended up bringing my letter stamp set, my metal stamp set, both of my hammers, and my jewelry anvil (which, for those who don’t know, is a MacGyvered brick wrapped in painter’s tape) just in case I needed them. When the time came to pack up and head to the train station, I managed to fit everything into my backpack and two travel bags… but couldn’t quite bring myself to shove a 12 lb. brick on top of everything else.

So, I left it sitting on the end table in my friend’s guest room. Fortunately, he’ll be visiting me in a couple weeks and I can put off metal stamping work until then.

What’s the oddest thing you’ve ever been forced to leave behind or postpone bringing home?

~ by blackmoodcraft on March 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
