Saving the Comfy Chair, Take II

Between general wear and tear and the generous claws of my Russian Blue companion, the previous canvas re-upholstery job I did on my arm chair last year fell apart and I was recently forced to upgrade.

Three yards of cloth-backed chocolate velveteen (thank you, Fabrics Chicago), 95 brass furniture tacks, 24 black head pins, and half a spool of all purpose polyester thread later, we’re off to a good start. I ended up cutting and sewing a lot of panels this time, rather than relying on draping fabric that could easily tear. I also ended up using far less spray adhesive this time (save for a small amount on the back panel), thinking that’s what might have attracted my cat (and her claws) in the first place. The painter’s tape helped to keep the panels in place while I attacked the cover pieces or sewed smaller pieces.

The main piece covering the upper cushion is two medium-sized pieces I ended up stitching together before tucking and pinning it over the cushion.

With stops and starts, this took me most of a Sunday to complete, in between prepping ferments and cleaning the fridge. I’m pretty happy with the result.

(She looks so impressed, doesn’t she?)

~ by blackmoodcraft on November 24, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
