Favorite Holiday Videos: “Little Drummer Boy,” Grace Jones

Looking back at my childhood, there’s a lot of subversive humor littered throughout media I consumed that time and distance have led me to recall as being completely innocuous (it was not). Nothing has pulled the wool from my eyes more than a second viewing of Pee-Wee’s Christmas Special two decades after I first watched it. I still cannot find a clip of k.d. lang singing “Jingle Bell Rock” in a long blue dress with her hair styled like Elvis, but Grace Jones singing “Little Drummer Boy” in a fur coat and taupe shell body suit is still pretty eye-opening.

~ by blackmoodcraft on December 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
