New Year’s Resolution


–Photo courtesy of filmint.nu.

I love a good list. When things are at their most chaotic to the point of losing gravity, writing out a list will pull me back to earth. Back in July, I made a To-Do list. Short and simple, centered around things I needed to do in order to improve my relationships with others and to open myself up to the possibility of relationships and interactions with new people.

The first item was maybe the smallest task on the list: remove ‘divorcee’ from my Tumblr description. Easy on paper, almost frivolous. But, of the five or six items that were on the list, it was probably the most important step for me to make.

Trauma can’t be underestimated in the manner and scope of which it affects an individual’s state of mind. Throw ongoing problems like depression and anxiety into the mix and there are a lot of unresolved feelings that someone can end up carrying around with them. Eventually, you have to decide to resolve them on your own or just keep carrying them. I don’t even like carrying my own shopping bags, so choosing the first option was a no-brainer for me.

That first leap, and the five or six that followed it (go to the next munch, learn to crochet, chat more with [name redacted], etc) has been very good for me in the long-term and, I suspect, will continue to be in the new year and beyond.

In the end, some things are simple: bad things happen. Bad things happened to me. It would be a mistake if they defined who I was.

~ by blackmoodcraft on January 31, 2015.

One Response to “New Year’s Resolution”

  1. Love this post!

Leave a Reply

 
