Jedediah and Octavius Miniatures

The new year brought illness to my office and, fortunately, some halfway decent movies to distract me from the abrupt influx of extra work. I ended up seeing the third Night at the Museum film a couple times in theaters, and, hearing about the prospect of toys, I went by Wendy’s and ended up grabbing a kids’ meal. Seeing the Octavius miniature I received was unfinished (base grey plastic with a few features painted in), I made a side trip to Michael’s.

Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Satin Red
Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Satin Corn Silk
Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Metallic Gun Metal
Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Satin Blue Cloud
Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Satin Cocoa Bean
Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Satin Spanish Tile
Craft Smart Multi-Surface Acrylic Paint Satin Black
Royal Court Decoupage Sealer
Testors Micro Sponge Brushes
1″ sponge brush

Prior to working on the details, I mixed the decoupage sealer with water to create a light translucent base coat just in case the paint didn’t want to adhere to the plastic. From there, I painted in the flesh details before moving on the armor and the cloak. I opted to paint a red base for the top of Octavius’ plinth partially to cover for any mishaps in painting the cloak and partially because that base grey was depressing the hell out of me.

Not wanting to roll the dice the next time I went to Wendy’s, I ended up ordering Jedediah from an eBay seller and I made another trip to the craft store for more paint.

Because Jedediah had slightly more detail to account for than Octavius, I bought four new colors of multi-surface acrylic paint to account for his hat, boots, trousers, shirt, vest and gloves. For his holsters, I went with the metallic gun metal paint I used for Octavius’ armor.

For his plinth, I opted to use the Blue Cloud of Jed’s shirt — to contrast with Octavius’s red base and because I thought the color was really lovely and complimented the others so well.

Well then, first time painting miniatures. Don’t think I did too bad a job of it. What do you guys think?

Fun fact that was brought to my attention: the characters in the films are 1:32 miniatures, measuring approximately 2.25″ tall. Which makes these particular toys… life-sized.

~ by blackmoodcraft on February 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
