Bear Pride Cross Stitch Necklace

Coming off of IML, I thought I’d post the latest in my pride color series. The term “bear” as a descriptor for a subculture within the LGBT community can be traced back as early as George Mazzei’s 1979 Advocate article “Who’s Who in the Zoo?” where Mazzei compares archetypes of people within the gay community to seven different animals, including bears. Bear culture emerged in the early 1980s, popularized by Richard Bulger and Craig Nelson’s Bear Magazine which was founded in 1987. The flag was created by Craig Byrnes in 1995 and premiered at the Chesapeake Bay Bears “Bears of Summer” events in July of that year.

Magic Hat Brewing Company bottle cap
Pringles lid
U.S. Quarter
Medium brown cotton embroidery floss
Light orange cotton embroidery floss
Yellow cotton embroidery floss
Ecru cotton embroidery floss
Medium beaver grey cotton embroidery floss
Black cotton embroidery floss
Ultimate Crafter’s glue
7mm aluminum jump ring
16-count Aida cloth
Jewelry pliers
Sewing needle
Scissors

Finding the best approximation for the flag design was a little trickier than the leather pride cross stitch design. The flag itself depicts seven color stripes as well as the bear paw print in the upper left corner. Ultimately, I removed the white stripe and used a four-toed paw print in order to make the design fit the frame.

For the bezel, I chose to go with a Magic Hat #9 “Not Quite Pale Ale” bottle cap. I’ve always loved this particular design and I thought the colors would suit the Bear Pride flag. This was also the first necklace I created using Cindy, my metal hole punch, instead of a push pin (my thumbs are relieved).

And another design’s ready for the workshop booklet! I’m quite proud of this one. What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on May 27, 2015.

One Response to “Bear Pride Cross Stitch Necklace”

  1. I think it looks brilliant!

Leave a Reply

 
