Tiny Crocheted Yoda

Between prepping for the workshop, trip planning, and tidying up in preparation for the August move, I haven’t had a lot of time to just sit down and work on my projects. But, ultimately, I decided to give one of Lucy Collin’s Star Wars amigurumi patterns a try. I’m glad I did!

Mint green fine weight yarn
Dark brown fine weight yarn
Oatmeal fine weight yarn
Size e (3.5 mm) crochet hook
Safety eyes
Yarn needle
Scissors

For my previous amigurumi, I ended up starting from the bottom up (body before head), but the pattern called for head first in order to incorporate the safety eyes before moving on to the rest of the pattern.

This was a fairly easy pattern for my experience level of crochet experience (very limited at this point). I did end up making one modification: while the ears called for a chain stitch pattern to create their unique shape, I ended up using the magic ring stitch because it was easier with this size hook. In the end, the ended up approximating Yoda’s elfin ears enough without becoming disproportionate (elfin but not Ferengi).

Ready this little guy is! (Little — about 3″ high — is right) What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on June 30, 2015.

One Response to “Tiny Crocheted Yoda”

  1. […] The wings ended up being something of a happy accident. I misplaced the part of the pattern that included them and ended up improvising a pair based on my previous modifications for another pattern (mentioning no names, though he comes from a galaxy far, far away). […]

Leave a Reply

 
