Tiny TARDIS Cross Stitch Necklace

Another year, another GenCon come and gone. As always, it was great fun!

Prepping for my workshop was slightly less stressful this time around than it was a few years ago. I spent most of the day before getting materials ready, making sure everything was packed, and updating the pattern booklet to distract myself. It turned out that the last pattern I worked with ended up being my most popular at the convention.

Two-Hearted Ale bottle cap
16-ct aida cloth
1″ plastic backing (cut from a Pringles lid)
Metal hole punch
Ball chain with closure
7mm anodized aluminum jump ring
Crafters Pick The Ultimate crafter’s glue
Royal blue cotton embroidery floss
Light blue cotton embroidery floss
Black cotton embroidery floss
White cotton embroidery floss
Light grey cotton embroidery floss
Silver metallic embroidery floss
Black Rit powder dye back
2-gallon bucket
Jewelry pliers
Wood craft stick
Wire cutters
Sewing needle
Sewing scissors

I’d been keeping the Two-Hearted Ale caps on reserve for some Whovian projects and was happy to finally dig one out for use. The TARDIS is a design I’ve been trying to approximate and adjust for this frame size since I started making them and I was happy to finally find one that worked.

While buying aida cloth in different colors online is always an option, dying the white 16-count cloth I got for less than $3 from Michaels turned out to be easier and take a lot less time. I used the soaking method to dye half of the cloth (1 gallon water, 1 dye pack, stir constantly for 10-30 min, rinse in warm to cool water until the water runs clear) and dried them in the clothes dryer. Once dry, I cut the cloth into 3″ x 3″ squares, then trimmed them down into circles.

For the TARDIS design, I split the six-strand floss to three-strand to make sure the design had enough room on the cloth. For the stars, I took the metallic floss (much stiffer than the cotton) and split it to one-strand.

Once the design was complete, I used the plastic backing as a guide to trim the remaining cloth down to 3/4″ around the design. I folded the edges over and used the wood craft stuck to apply the adhesive. Once the adhesive was applied, I secured the design to the inside of the bottle cap (drill hole and jump ring already in place).

Once the design was completed, I used the wire cutters to cut 22″ length of ball chain and used the closure to create the necklace. All in all, I think this turned out pretty well! What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on August 3, 2015.

3 Responses to “Tiny TARDIS Cross Stitch Necklace”

  1. Looks fantastic

  2. […] Some fun notes from my Tiny TARDIS Cross Stitch: […]

Leave a Reply

 
