Poison Bag Lunch Tote

My morning commute got a little bit longer recently and carrying my mason jars, fresh fruit, and travel mug full of coffee or tea in a paper Aveda bag got tiresome really quickly. Since my last handmade lunch bag got misplaced in the move somewhere, I decided to make a new one.

*

12″ x 20″ canvas
12″ x 20″ scrap fabric
Two scrap leather straps with buckle
Brown cotton embroidery floss
Ribbon tape
Scotch tape
Sewing needles
Two 1/4″ four-hole buttons
Rubber stamps
Black ink pad
Matte spray adhesive
Pins

With help from The Girl Inspired’s Spring Market Tote Tutorial, I opted to switch from the lunch bag pattern to a mini, lined tote. Using the ribbon tape, I measured out an 12″ x 24″ single panel of canvas to create the shell for the bag. Once trimmed, I folded the panel and back-stitched a pair of outer seams with brown cotton embroidery floss and used the pins to fold down the top edge by half an inch.

Once the seams were completed, I used the tape and paperclips to fold down and seam the corners of the bag, leaving room for the lining.

Everyone should have some scrap leather lying around — leather is versatile, durable, and brings a layer of sophistication to a variety of projects. Thanks to a few people, I had some scrap leather straps with buckles in my gear and decided a strap for my lunch tote would be more fun to make than attempting to knit or sew one. Because the gromets were already fixed, I opted to run the cotton through the fixed loops, making several revolutions and creating decorative bundles of stitches on either side to strengthen the hold of the strap to the bag.

To secure the open belt-holes at the edge of the bag, I sewed a pair of four-hole 1/4″ buttons to each side.

For the lining, I went with a multi-colored pattern of scrap fabric I’d been holding onto for a while.

For the outside designs, I grabbed a bunch of my favorite “tea time” and Halloween rubber stamps to create a composite of images related to both death and food (two of Ms. Moody’s favorite things).

I repeated the same instructions for the lining, reducing the measurements by 1/2″. Once completed, I used the embroidery floss to secure the lining to the shell with a simple back stitch 1/4″ from the mouth of the bag.

And there we are! This bag is very light, practical, and goes well with everything I own. What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on October 14, 2015.

2 Responses to “Poison Bag Lunch Tote”

  1. clever!

Leave a Reply

 
