Sterling silver meets silver solder…


I’ve been taking more time to practice with the soldering iron in between longer projects. This time I decided to swap out my usual 18 gauge copper wire with 12 gauge sterling silver. 

I used my wire cutters to trim a 14″ piece from the batch I bought from Amazon. The wire is half round, which made it easy to wrap and hammer. When it came time to solder the two ends shut, it got a little hinky (particularly since the mandrel is steel and heated as easily as the silver). Note: for this kind of work, use heat resistant work gloves.


Still, I think it turned out pretty good! I might try a sulfur dioxide patina on my next one, just to see how it looks with the silver.

What do you guys think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on July 2, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
