“Toast and Tea” Teapot Wall Art

I recently made a trip to San Marcos, Texas to visit my dear friend Tracy Henry, poet and author of She Is Stranger Than Fiction and Geek Girl Gourmet. The two of us are hardly ever in the same 100-mile radius so we put together gift packages for each other’s birthdays and holidays. This wouldn’t have fit into most boxes I had anyway, so I waited until close to the trip to put it together.

One of Tracy’s characters, Tam Lenox, is a fan of tea (as are the both of us), so when I found this at Michael’s, I thought of her immediately.

Teapot wood cut
Craft Smart acrylic paint – yellow
Craft Smart acrylic paint – black
Folk Art acrylic paint – metallic champagne
Folk Art acrylic paint – warm white
Royal Court decoupage sealer/adhesive
Aleene’s spray matte finish sealer
1/4″ craft brush
3/4″ craft brush

For the base coat, I decided to go with a mix of warm white and metallic champagne, so it would give the colors a used later a warm feel but wouldn’t draw attention away from them. I chose yellow and black for the main colors because of the trickster imagery in Zohra Greenhalgh’s Contrarywise and Trickster’s Touch, two books we both love.

“Bread and water can so easily be toast and tea” is a quote I’d heard before and is pretty appropriate to both of our lives and situations as creative artists, so I elected to paint that on the teapot (and to put my cursive script skills to good use).

Once the paint was dry, I sprayed it down with the matte finish.

Tracy seemed pleased with her present. What do you think?

~ by blackmoodcraft on May 11, 2012.

3 Responses to ““Toast and Tea” Teapot Wall Art”

  1. It’s still on my wall in full display in the same ‘room’ as my three teapots, right under my BA degree. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you liked it 🙂

      • I love it! What’s more, I know my sister will see it and love it. She’s thrilled pink that I’ve decided (or rather my Tam muse has decided) that I’m going to collect teapots. She’s got her own collection she can’t display right now because of space, but I have a feeling that I’m going to have to have a ‘tea room’ eventually just for the teapots and the wall-hanging you made me. 🙂

Leave a comment