Allen Key Suede Pouch

My girlfriend surprised me a few weeks ago with a stainless steel collar that had a 5/64 Allen key closure. Fortunately, the tiny key was included in the box along with an extra screw (just in case). I immediately spent four hours designing and assembling a made-to-measure pouch (worn around the neck similar to a medicine bag) to ensure I wouldn’t lose it.

Realeather black suede trim piece
Loops & Threads jeans button
Royal blue cotton embroidery floss
2mm leather cord
Steel bench block
Bead Landing hole punch
Sewing needle
Scissors
Hammer
Ruler

I tailored the pouch to match the height and width of the Allen key 2.5″ x 1″ and then compensated for the flap that was going to fold over the top and the width of the jeans button (1 cm). The leather piece I trimmed ended up being 1.5″ by 7″. Once I’d cut out the swatch and trimmed it until the sides were even, I used the steel bench block and hammer to fix the button to the body of the pouch.

~ by blackmoodcraft on October 10, 2016.

Leave a comment